Are you worried about cooking for a vegetarian in your family this upcoming holiday season? Well, worry no more. This article will tell you exactly what you need to do and know before you start cooking this holiday season.
You can start off by finding out what type of vegetarian your guest is. For instance, if she is a strict vegan, then theres a chance she will not eat food that contains honey or yeast; however, if on the other hand, she is a “semi” or “pseudo” vegetarian, there is a chance she will actually eat the meal as it is prepared, including the meat. And if shes a lacto-ovo-vegetarian, she might eat anything with eggs and milk, but will probably avoid meat dishes.
If you talk to the vegetarian in your family before you prepare your holiday meal, you should consider asking the following five questions:
1. Do you eat certain types of meat or none at all?
If the vegetarian in your family will eat certain meats (generally fish, chicken, and turkey), then you should consider preparing that as a side dish or asking them if they would like to bring a small dish of it for their own meal.
2. Will you use serving...